During a period of general religious revival, in the first half of the 19th century, a new meeting house was built. It’s an interesting story! In a formal vote on April 15, 1843, members determined to build a new meeting house, but with some (apparently quite significant) opposition. A building committee was appointed with the right to dispose of the old house as they thought best.
Apparently to avoid their opposition, those in favor of the new building met at night and pulled down the old building, much to the consternation of the opposition! Once it was down, of course, a new building was needed, and so a foundation was laid on May 9, 1843 and the meeting house dedicated on December 6, 1843. It cost $2,689.11, not including the bell, which was bought later.
The basement of the new church became the town hall and continued as such until 1906. The cabinets in the choir loft held the town’s library.
No major church construction projects were undertaken for more than a century; we can speculate that the meeting house rebuilding experience was a trial for the congregation’s unity!
Our current church building consists of the second Meeting House, the Fellowship Hall and the wing connecting the two structures. More information on those buildings can be found in Cy Anderson Fellowship Hall and Crawford Wing.